Sinéad O'Connor at the Celtic Cafe

Sean-Nos Nua

Listen to music samples at Vanguard Records.

Press Release:



-Vanguard web site to offer streaming of new songs each week-

SANTA MONICA, CA -- Vanguard Records announces the October 8 release of Sean-Nós Nua, Sinéad O'Connor's first studio album since 2000's Faith and Courage on Atlantic Records. Recorded in County Wicklow, Ireland and produced by Sinéad, Donal Lunny, Adrian Sherwood and Alan Branch, the album is "a collection of traditional Irish songs which are normally recorded very old style. This style is referred to as "Sean-Nós," says O'Connor. "The way we have recorded them is to "sexy" them up with rhythms and sounds so that they can become part of what is new style. Hence the record is called Sean-Nós Nua." The Vanguard Records web site will offer streaming of a new song each week beginning August 12 at

Featuring some of Ireland's best contemporary musicians along with English-based musicians, including Steve Wickham (mandolin, fiddle, banjo); Sharon Shannon (accordion); Donal Lunny (guitar, bouzouki, keyboard, bodhran, bodhran bass); Cora Venus Lunny (viola, violin); Rob O'Géibheannaigh (flute, whistle, banjo, strings, guitar); Kieran Kiely (whistle, accordion); Alan Branch (percussion); Skip MacDonald (guitar); Pete Lockett (percussion); Bernard O'Neill (acoustic bass); Carlton "Bubblers" Ogilvie (drums, bass, piano); Abdullah Chhadeh (quanun); Professor Stretch (drum, bass programming); Nick Coplowe (Hammond); and Christy Moore (vocals on Lord Baker), Sean-Nós Nua is the album Sinéad's always wanted to make and features songs that have had particular resonance on her life. "Myself, Adrian Sherwood, Donal Lunny and Alan Branch hope to make Irish traditional music appealing to singers, bands and songwriters who are bored with the state of Irish music as it is now," says O'Connor.

Among the album's 13 tracks are "Paddy's Lament," the story of an Irish emigrant to the U.S. in the 19th century who left Ireland to flee the wars only to find himself conscripted under President Lincoln in the American Civil War; "Peggy Gordon," a traditional Irish song of unrequited love; "Óró Sé do Bheatha Bhaile," an Irish language song celebrating Grainne Uaile (Grace O'Malley), the 16th century pirate, who wreaked havoc on the Spanish and French fleet off the west coast of Ireland and sailed her fleet up the Thames to confront Queen Elizabeth of England at the House of Parliament in London; and "Molly Malone," sometimes referred to as "Cockles and Mussels" - is a Dublin street ballad which celebrates the life and death of Molly Malone, a well-known street trader in the 1800s.

# # #

Full track listing:

1. Peggy Gordon
2. Her Mantle So Green
3. Lord Franklin
4. The Singing Bird
5. Óró Sé Do Bheatha Bhaile
6. Molly Malone
7. Paddy's Lament
8. The Moorlough Shore
9. The Parting Glass
10. Báidín Fheilimí
11. My Lagan Love
12. Lord Baker
13. I'll Tell Me Ma



Feature: Bernadette Price
Header: Louise Owen
Original Web Design: Alexander Servas


© 2002 by